Get Out – Trailer vs. Movie

As is typical with all my posts, please be aware there are possible spoilers.

The trailer(s) that I watched for this movie are below

Get Out isn’t a movie that I typically would have gone to see after seeing the trailer.  My first impression of the trailer is the movie is a semi-horror film.  Based on the movies the director, Jordan Peele, previously made…hold that thought.  This is actually the first film directed by Jordan Peele.

In the trailer the production company Blumhouse makes you believe that this film has connections to Insidious, The Visit, and The Gift.  This is why someone would think this film is a horror film.  While there are elements of horror in the movie, I would characterize this movie more of a suspense/thriller film.

The trailer does give away the first 2/3 of the movie, no real surprises for the set up to the climax, but where the film goes after that is unexpected.  The motivations of the Antagonists are not as straight forward as you would expect from the trailer.  While I did have one of the major plot points figured out while watching the movie it wasn’t given away in the trailer.

There are scenes in the trailer that did not make the final cut of the film.

While this isn’t a movie that I ever would have made a effort to go see because of the genre eluded to in the trailer I am very happy that I did see it.  Its a movie that makes you keep thinking “what the hell is going on here”.  I do wish that the movie would have tried to keep me in the dark a little longer because I did end up figuring out what was going on before the reveal the real point of the movie was successful in keeping the audience guessing.

There was only one instance in the movie that made me disappointed with how Daniel Kaluuya’s character “Chris” figures out how to get out of a situation.  In all this is a movie that I would recommend for people to go see.  The acting was good, the cinematography was forgettable, the director did a good job building up the story and suspense.

8.5/10 – Movie Rating (10/10 is a perfect rating)

6/10 – Trailer Rating.  The trailer gives away a lot, but not the major points at the end of the film.

Leave a Reply

