Before I Fall– Trailer vs. Movie #13

As is typical with all my posts, please be aware there are possible spoilers.

The trailer(s) that I watched for this movie are below:

Having never read the book that this film is based on,  written by Lauren Oliver (2010), I cannot say how close the film is to the book.  I feel though that the movie is a huge opportunity missed to make the film from good to great.

The trailer leaves very little off the table in terms of story.  If the trailer were only the first part there could have had a lot left over for the movie viewer.

This is the first film that I have watched with lead actress Zoey Deutch.  I was impressed with her range and her ability to carry the movie.  I do look forward to see where she goes from here.  

I really wanted this movie to take me and surprise me.  Explain what was happening, though I do have my own theories.  Deutch’s character does evolve and change throughout the movie and some of her background comes out.  I just wish that other characters background would have been more thoughtfully looked at.  Ultimately the end of the film felt very anti-climatic.

 

(10/10 is a perfect rating)

7/10 – Movie Rating:  Even thought there is nothing surprising in the movie at all I think its still a solid showing trying to drive at being a better person if ultimately falling short.

4/10 – Trailer Rating:  The trailer gives away a lot of the story ultimately leaving little surprise left in this movie.

End Credit Scene? – No

 

Leave a Reply

