Life– Trailer vs. Movie #15 (-7.7)

As is typical with all my posts, please be aware there are possible spoilers.

The trailer(s) that I watched for this movie are below:

Life is exactly the movie I was expecting to see even if the trailer didn’t give away the plot completely.  And I need to give it credit here, it would have been so easy to show more.  But maybe there was a reason to not showing more.  The trailer infers so much that its pretty easy to imagine from the trailer was is going to happen in this movie.

I have a hard time liking this movie.  Its honestly hard to put my finger on what exactly is bothering me.  Maybe its the ridiculous was the movie starts, how the movie gives you a set of rules and then continually breaks them at the most convenient times, the changing roles of the characters (I’m a doctor, or wait now I’m the pilot).   I had a hard time not being pulled out of the movie by something ridiculous happening on screen and trying to get back into it.

Ignoring the crazy start to the film, this movie is actually pretty good for the first 1/2 – 3/4 of the run-time.  Life works very well as a suspense movie, much in the vein of Alien.  No one really knows whats going on and have very few options to figure out a way out.

Once the movie becomes a monster flick however, the film goes downhill fast.  I did want this movie to be good, but there is too much here that can’t be ignored.

 

(10/10 is a perfect rating)

6.5/10 – Movie Rating:  Even thought there is nothing surprising in the movie at all I think its still a solid showing trying to drive at being a better person if ultimately falling short.

7/10 – Trailer Rating:  The trailer gives away a lot of the story ultimately leaving little surprise left in this movie.

End Credit Scene? – No

 

Leave a Reply

