Power Rangers– Trailer vs. Movie #14 (-8.7 at this point I should have seen almost 9 more movies to hit 100)

As is typical with all my posts, please be aware there are possible spoilers.

The trailer(s) that I watched for this movie are below:

 

I was never a fan of the 90’s Power Rangers television show.  I was in high school during the shows original run and wasn’t really the target audience, more of a Dragon Ball Z guy.  My knowledge of the TV show and its characters is pretty limited.  This movie for me was more of a curiosity rather then expecting a good movie.  There were some aspects of the movie that surprised me and others that I got exactly what I was expecting.

First off I was surprised by some of the acting in this movie.  If you look at the movie before the Power Rangers actually become Power Rangers its actually not bad at all.  The 5 actors actually do a decent job in portraying high school kids in trouble and their adventure in discovering who each other are.  However, This is where the enjoyment ended for me.

Once the final act of the film starts, then this movie just falls apart.  The movie is largely a pain by numbers movie anyways, but it just gets worse.  Goes from using nice color pencils to using crayons.

Unfortunately, as much as I really go like Elizabeth Banks, she is dreadful in this movie.  Whether she just phoned it in because this was a contract obligation, or was really limited by the director / script, it was just awful.  The movie would have been better served just by getting a better suited actress for this role.

On to the trailer.  The trailer gave away EVERYTHING.  There was no surprised, no nothing that was left out of the trailer.  The best jokes, the best action, it was all there.  Even things in the trailer that may have been interesting, like romantic relationships, gone.

While I didn’t hate the movie, it just wasn’t anything special.  The movie honestly belongs in the 90’s with other completely predicable action films.

(10/10 is a perfect rating)

5/10 – Movie Rating:  Even thought there is nothing surprising in the movie at all I think its still a solid showing trying to drive at being a better person if ultimately falling short.

1/10 – Trailer Rating:  The trailer gives away a lot of the story ultimately leaving little surprise left in this movie.

End Credit Scene? – Yes

 

Leave a Reply

