Edge of Seventeen – Trailer vs. Movie #31 (-11.5)

As is typical with all my posts, please be aware there are possible spoilers.

The trailer that I watched for this movie is below:

 

Before I get into the review I need to talk about one issue I am running into with my goal of 100 movies in the theater in 2017.  While I am still 100% focused on watching 100 movies, I will need to alter the rules.  Seeing 100 movies in the theater will not be possible for me.  Between work, home life, and relaxation I will not be able to get to the theater enough.  What I can do however is still watch 100 movies that came out this year or very late 2016.  I have already broken the 2017 rule with watching Lion early this year and still plan on focusing mostly on 2017 movies, but there were a few late releases last year that I felt needed to been seen. Edge of Seventeen is one of those movies.

Edge of Seventeen is a modern take of a classic coming of age film.  Hailee Steinfield (True Grit) plays a awkward seventeen year old with little going for her and nothing ever seeming to go her way.  Steinfield takes the role and kills it making it very easy to feel everything she does, heartbreak, betrayal, sadness and fear.

I’m not going to go into the movie much more then that because I do not want to give it away, but it is one you should have on your radar to watch if you get the chance.

The trailer actually doesn’t do a great job expressing what this movie is.  There are some glimpses into the heart of the movie in the trailer, giving away one major plot point, but overall doesn’t show this movie as what it is.

(10/10 is a perfect rating)

9/10 – Movie Rating

7/10 – Trailer Rating

End Credit Scene? – No

 

Leave a Reply

