Beatriz at Dinner – Trailer vs. Movie #46 (-6.6)

As is typical with all my posts, please be aware there are possible spoilers.

The trailer that I watched for this movie is below:

Beatriz at dinner is a film with a agenda and its not shy about hitting you right in the face with it over and over.  Some people may agree with it, some may not, but I doubt there are many people that won’t either like or hate this movie because of it.

There are strong acting performances here from Salma Hayek and John Lithgow, but in my opinion they are overshadowed by what this film is really about.  Because the agenda of this movie is so much in your face I have a hard time recommending this to anyone that doesn’t already agree with it.  I don’t see this movie changing anyone’s mind about immigration, the environment, etc.

The trailer makes this film look like a comedy that may lean on the dark side, but I would have a hard time agreeing with that.  I found it more intriguing when Salma Hayek’s character was a fish out of water in opposition to the other characters.  She doesn’t belong in this world and how she approached trying to fit in was the most interesting part to me.  The trailer gives some of what this film is about, but does a pretty good job of hiding it.

Watch in the theater? – No

Watch at home? – No

I watched the trailer, have I already seen the movie? – No

End Credit Scene? – No

 

Leave a Reply

